We’re all awaiting the release of Wrath of the Lich King for our own reasons. One of the more interesting things that it has to offer is its new hero class the Death Knight. While many people will refrain from starting a Death Knight right away most of us are going to want to check it out.

I was given the opportunity to check out the Death Knight in WotLK beta testing and I can say I’m very excited. Like most betas the DK was changed about five times since it’s been up. I’m sure that even after the game launches there will be many changes to come. For those of us that beta tested the original World of Warcraft back in 2004 will know that even before The Burning Crusade was released WoW was much different then where it started out at.

This is to be expected with all the new releases to WoW. The DK does in fact seem to be a very well balanced class. The easiest way to explain it is by comparing it to a Paladin but the opposite. There are three talent trees available to the DK and they are:

  • Blood
  • Frost
  • Unholy

Of course everyone is going to argue over which tree is the best, but I don’t think there is a best tree for DK. I don’t even think there’s a best tree for any class anymore. With the release of the 3.0.2 patch and the changes brought about by that each class, no matter its spec, has a fair chance to do it all.

World of Warcraft developers gave an interview stating that they made the DK to appear to be prettier and more attractive to than other classes but equal in all standards. This makes sense if you think about it because it’s a hero class. I’m sure many are going to argue that the DK is over powered but after playing one I think it will be just as good as any other class. I’m very excited to start one when WotLK comes out.

