What are the top ten best RPG’s? I’d like to take a minute to pay respect to the games that paved the way for MMORPG’s today. I want to focus on those old RPG’s that really did it for me. Here’s the list of my top ten favorite RPG’s of all time.

10. Gauntlet

gauntlet_title

9. Illusion of Gaia

illusion-of-gaia

8. Star Ocean

star-ocean-1

7. Fire Emblem

fire-emblem1

6. Super Mario RPG

supermariorpgbox

5. Breath of Fire

breath-of-firejp11

4. Secret of Mana

secret-of-mana

3. Final Fantasy 3

ff3

2. Zelda

zelda3

1. Chrono Trigger

chrono_trigger_snes_box1

This is my list of favorite RPG’s. I’ve played every single one from start to finish. Looking back at the way they were done and how games of it’s type are today it makes me wonder if the quality I came to love back then will slowly fade out or come back with vengeance. Chrono Trigger takes the number one spot for me because it was the first 16-bit RPG made by Squaresoft. It was the game that set itself apart from all other games and what made me really appreciate RPG’s in the first place.

